Speakers of Past Editions

Joseph Cannataci – Special Rapporteur on the Right of Privacy at the United Nations.

Michel Sieber – Head of Information Superiority at the European Defence Agency. (2012-2016)

Reinhard Posch – Chief Information Officer of the Federal Republic of Austria. Formerly Chairman of the Board of ENISA.

Wojciech Wiewiórowski – Deputy European Data Protection Supervisor.

Achim Klabunde – Head of Sector IT Policy at European Data Protection Supervisor. 

Andreas Wild – (former) Executive Director of ECSEL JU, the largest EU R&D public funding program for microelectronics (150M€/ year).

Jan Philipp Albrecht – Former Vice-Chair of the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs (LIBE) of the EU Parliament. 

Marit Hansen – Data Protection Supervisor of the State of Schleswig-Holstein, Federal Republic of Germany. 

Bart Preneel – Former President at International Association for Cryptologic ResearchDirector at COSIC TU LeuvenArguably EU’s most peer-recognized IT security expert and researcher.

William R. Pace – Executive Director, World Federalist Movement-Institute for Global Policy (WFM-IGP). Convenor of the Coalition for the International Criminal Court (CICC) since 1995.

Marcos Vinicius Mazoni – President of SERPRO, the main Brazilian IT public agency, delegated by President Roussef to develop state-surveillance-proof email systems for government officials.

Pierre Chastanet – Senior Policy Analysts at EU Parliament Science and Technology Options Assessment unit (STOA) and the EU Parliament LIBE Committee Secretariat.

 Peter Ide-Kostic – Senior Policy Analysts at EU Parliament Science and Technology Options Assessment unit (STOA) and the EU Parliament LIBE Committee Secretariat.

Renaud Sirdey – Director of Research at the Commissariat à l’Energie Atomique, French Department of Energy.

Jovan Golic – Former Privacy, Security and Trust Action Line Leader of EIT Digital. 

Michel Jaccard – Founder and CEO of Id Est Avocats, specialized in open innovation, data privacy and security, free and open source licenses.

Jaap – Henk Hoepman – Professor at the Institute for Computing and Information Sciences of Radboud University Nijmegen. 

Yvo Desmedt – World-renowned cryptographer, and pioneer of threshold cryptography

Rogério Winter – Liason Officer of the Centro de Tecnologia da Informação Renato Archer of the Brazilian Army. 

Raoul Chiesa – A widely-recognized IT cracker, hacker and IT security expert. President of Security Brokers. Formerly consultant and advisor to ENISA, Nato, Italian MoD, UNICRI.


Richard Stallman – President of the Free Software Foundation. Founder of the Free Software movement. 

Bruce Schneier – Arguably the world’s most-renowned  IT security expertBoard member at Electronic Frontier Foundation, OSI and EPICCTO at Resilient Systems, IBMFellow at Harvard Law School.

Romano Stasi – Managing Director of Innovation Lab of the Italian Banks Association since 2013 (ABI Lab)

Melle Van Den Berg – Managing Consultant at CapGemini Cyber Security Consulting. 

Koen Maris – CTO at ATOS.  Previously CSO at Telecom Luxembourg

Roberto Gallo – CEO and Chief Scientist at KRYPTUS. Coordinator of the Cybersecurity Committee at the Brazilian Defense Industry

Rufo Guerreschi – Executive Director of the Trustless Computing Association. CEO of TRUSTLESS.AI.

Alberto Pelliccione – CEO of ReaQta, endpoint defense against advanced threats. Previously senior researcher at Hacking Team, a world leader in lawful access systems.

Eric Drexler – Senior Visiting Fellow at the Oxford Martin School, Oxford University, and a researcher and Internal Advisor to the Future of Humanity Institute (FHI), led by Prof. Nick Bostrom. Nanotechnology pioneer and AI security expert.

Bjoern Rupp – CEO of GSMK Cryptophone, leading mobile device security provider (whose CTO is Spokesman for Chaos Computer Club). 

Paul Nemitz – Director for Fundamental Rights and Union Citizenship in the EU Commission’s Directorate-General for Justice and Consumers.

Zachary Goldman – Director of the Center of Law and Security at New York Law School. 

Steven Bellovin – IT security professor at Columbia University. Co-author of foundational papers on state attempts to reconcile cyber-investigation and privacy (19972013

Max Schrems – Leading Austrian privacy activist. Initiated a lawsuit questioning the compliance of the Safe Harbor agreement between EU and US.

Ulrich Seldeslachts – CEO of LSEC, a not for profit industry association focused on Information Security in Europe, based in Belgium.

David Meyer – Berlin-based digital rights journalist, published on Fortune, Gigaom, POLITICO Europe, ZDNet, BBC, the Guardian.

John C. Havens – Executive Director of the IEEE Global Initiative for Ethical Considerations in the Design of AI Autonomous Systems. 

Roman Yampolskiy – World-renowned AI superintelligence safety expert and professor. Author of the book “Artificial Superintelligence”. 

John “Maddog” Hall –  Free software pioneer and evangelist. 

Alberto J. Azevedo – Brazilian IT security and privacy expert, consultant and free software hacktivist

Kai Rannenberg – Chair at Deutsche Telekom Chair of Multilateral Security at Goethe University.

Jan Philipp Albrecht – Former Vice-Chair of the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs (LIBE) of the EU Parliament. 


Jennifer Baker – Freelance IT privacy and rights journalist. Published on ArsTechnica, ComputerWeekly, Macworld, PC World and The Register.

Daniel Castro – Vice President Information Technology and Innovation Foundation, Washington, USA. Co-author of Unlocking Encryption:Information Security and the Rule of Law.